Things that make you go, hmmm.

Anna is three and a half.  The half is very important.  Don’t you remember being a kid and feeling WAY older when you could add the ‘a half’ to your age?  I always did.  Anyway, as a typical three-and-a-half-year-old, she says some pretty crazy things.

– The other day, while Anna should have been napping, she made a mixture of lotion, Desitin, and water in a bucket.  She mixed it with a toothbrush and then proceeded to paint on the mirrors and furniture.  As I was cleaning it all up, I asked her why she did it.  Her response, “It’s my job.”

– If Alex or I am eating something that Anna wants, instead of asking for a bite she tells us that she wants to share with us.  Since we are trying to stress that she needs to share with people, we can’t exactly tell her no.  She then proceeds to eat everything on the plate.

– Anna is figuring out the differences between men and women.  A game she likes to play is for me to name people and for her to say if they are a boy or a girl.  Sometimes she will add why they are a certain gender.  For example, ‘Mommy is a girl because she wears ponies in her hair.’  When she gets tired of playing the game correctly, she starts answering the opposite because she thinks it HI-larious.  She’s quite the little cut up.  The other day, we were playing the game and she started getting silly.  In the height of her silliness, she blurted out, ‘Daddy wears panties!’  I tried my best to keep a straight face because the last thing we need is for her to think that statement is funny and go around repeating it.  Can you imagine what people would think if Anna told them that?  So, as a precautionary public service announcement – contrary to what you might hear from Anna, Alex does not wear panties.

– Anna was sitting in the living room and I was cleaning the floor.  (I feel like I’m always cleaning the stupid floor.)  Our conversation went something like this:

Anna – ‘Mom, what are you doing?’

Me – ‘I’m cleaning the floor.’

Anna – ‘Oh.  Who’s coming over?’

-pregnant pause-

Me – ‘Well, you have to keep your floors clean in your house.  And (hangs head in shame), so-and-so is coming over for dinner.’

There’s nothing quite like being bested by your three-year-old. Oh, excuse me – your three-and-a-half-year-old.

‘Sharing’ food with Daddy…

4 thoughts on “Things that make you go, hmmm.

  1. About 2 years ago, we were in a rush to get somewhere and I stuffed A in the shower with T (you like how I’m using initials? yes, that’s to protect the innocent) so we could get everyone ready in time to be wherever it was we needed to be. They got out of the shower and as I’m getting A dressed she says in her most serious voice “Mama, did you know Daddy has a tail??” It took me about 30 seconds to work out what she meant, and then another minute to contain my laughter. T has never again showered with either one of the girls. So I guess my point is, maybe Alex wears panties but at least she isn’t discussing his tail in public…. LOL!

Leave a Reply

