Lulu’s at Homeport Marina

When we travel, we like to venture out and see the sights, meet the people, and eat the local food.  When we knew that we were going to Gulf Shores I started searching for restaurants to try out.  We knew that we were mainly going to be eating at our beach house, but wanted to go out once or twice while we were there.  The entire time I was searching for ideas, Lulu’s kept popping up.  I finally clicked on it to see what it was all about.  Apparently Jimmy Buffett has a sister named Lucy.  The Buffett’s are from southern Alabama, so Lucy decided to follow in her brother’s culinary footsteps and open a restaurant in Gulf Shores.  Now, I’ve never been to a Margaritaville (or wasted away in one), but I heard that Lulu’s is pretty similar.  I guess Jimmy and Lucy talk about these sort of things during the holidays.  I also heard it was a pretty big tourist trap, even if they are all covered in oil.

We got there right around 5pm and the wait was already 45 minutes.  It wasn’t an issue, though, because they have fantastic things for kids to do to pass the time.  There’s sand areas, volleyball, and a ropes course.  You can also shop to your hearts delight in their gift shop, get a hair wrap, or drink the time away at one of the several bars.  A live band was setting up as we were getting there, so we listened to music while the kids played.  I don’t know the reason, but I could have stayed there all season.  Really the only thing you couldn’t do was get a brand new tattoo – even if it was going to be real beauty, a Mexican cutie.

So much to do, so little time.

Anna was enlisting help.

By the Crazy Sista stage!

Hooray for selfies…

At one point, Alex went to grab some waters for us.  Anna apparently ran off to find him.  When I started looking for her and couldn’t find her, we panicked.  There were a ton of people there, so it was easy for her to slip by.  We eventually found her before the police were called and I was able to get my heart back to a normal rhythm.  A few tears were shed.  I guess it could have been worse.  I could have blown out my flip-flop, stepped on a pop-top, cut my heel, and had to cruise on back home.  That didn’t happen, so we were able to enjoy our dinner.  The food was decent, but overpriced.  The upside – you didn’t even have to search for the lost shaker of salt.

The Details:

Lulu’s

200 East 25th Avenue

Gulf Shores, AL 36542

http://www.lulubuffett.com/

3 thoughts on “Lulu’s at Homeport Marina

  1. Pingback: Gulf Shores 2013 – Part 2 | The People Parsons

Leave a Reply

