Ham Fried Rice

When I was in high school, I had some Chinese food for dinner one night.  I ended up getting sick and ‘revisiting’ the food the entire next day.  It was enough to make me swear off of anything that remotely resembled Chinese food for the next 8 years.  Now, Alex loves Chinese food.  I mean, loves it.  But, I would never agree to get it for dinner because I couldn’t stand it.  He had to get his fix when I would have graduate school classes and Alex was on his own for dinner.  And then I got pregnant with Anna.  Pregnancy does some weird crap to your head.  Some seriously weird crap.  One day at work, I got a serious craving for crab rangoons.  It was all I could think about.  I called Alex on the way home and told him that we were getting Chinese for dinner that night.  I’ve haven’t seen him that excited since.

Since that fateful day, I’ve been a bit more open to the idea of eating Chinese food.  And because we are trying to reduce the amount we eat out, I’ve been trying to make more Chinese dishes at home.  This fried rice is a dish that I’ve made several times, and one that I actually like.  And, the kids like it.  It’s simple to make with just a few ingredients and only takes about 30 minutes.  I usually whip this together after getting home from work.  You can cook the rice a few days before to make it even faster (day old rice is actually better to use).  Oh, and use a wok if you have one.  It makes it so much easier and makes you feel totally legit.

Ham Fried Rice

Servings = 8

Weight Watchers Points+ = 10

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups uncooked white rice
  • 3 Tbsp sesame oil
  • 1 small onion
  • 2 tsp minced garlic
  • 1 cup frozen peas and carrots
  • 1 pound ham steak, cubed
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce, low sodium

Instructions:

Cook rice according to package directions.  For best results, cook a day or two in advance.

In a skillet, or a wok if you have one, heat the oil over medium-high heat.  Add the onion, garlic, peas, carrots, and ham steak.  Stir fry until tender and the ham is heated through.

Lower the heat to medium and push the contents to one side.  Place the eggs on the other side of the skillet and stir fry until scrambled.

Add the rice and soy sauce.  Blend until thoroughly combined.  Stir fry until heated through.

4 thoughts on “Ham Fried Rice

Leave a Reply

