Yankee Pot Roast

A few years ago, I walked into a Williams-Sonoma store to drool over all the amazing kitchen gear.  In the process of doing that, I caught a whiff of the most amazing aroma coming from their counter.  I mean, it was the most delicious thing I’ve ever smelled.  My mouth instantly started to water, and I knew I had to investigate.  As I walked toward aromatic heaven, a sweet little sales clerk asked me if I’d like to try a sample of their Yankee Pot Roast.  I asked her if that was the fantastic scent that I was hunting down, and she informed me that it was.  I quickly downed the sample.  My life was changed.  I saw fireworks.  It took every fiber in my being to not grab the entire tray of samples so that I could run off and eat them in the corner.  I kept my cool, and calmly asked where I could find the stuff they used to make the most awesome thing I’ve ever put in my mouth.  I then proceeded to buy every jar they had in the store.

I can’t lie, the jar of goodness is a bit expensive.  But, OH MY GRAVY, it’s so worth it.  They only offer it in the cooler months, so I tend to stock up when they first hit the shelves for the entire winter.  I’m not lying when I say that I buy 10 bottles at a time.  *hangs head in pot roast shame*

What makes this pot roast even more top-notch is that it might be the easiest thing in the world to make.   The bottle says to slightly brown the roast on all sides before putting in a slow cooker or dutch oven, but ain’t nobody got time for that.  I don’t mess with all that nonsense, and it is still out of this world.  Also, it says to add the onions and carrots in the end and cook for another hour.  That doesn’t work for us since we aren’t home, so I throw them in the beginning.  Guess what, they still taste great.  We make a little bowl with mashed potatoes and roast and top it with a bit of the sauce.  I’d like to fill my bathtub with it and eat my way out – it’s that good.

Yankee Pot Roast

Servings = 14 (4 ounce servings)

Weight Watchers Points+ = 8

Ingredients:

  • 3 1/2 pounds beef roast
  • 1 jar Williams-Sonoma Yankee Pot Roast Braising Base
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 1/2 cups baby carrots

Instructions:

Spray crock pot with cooking spray or use a liner.

Place roast in bottom of crock pot.  Add chopped onion and baby carrots.  Pour braising base over the top.

Cook on low for 8 hours.  Serve with mashed potatoes.

Leave a Reply

