Grandma’s Cheese Grits

I hail from a family of grit eaters.  I actually thought everyone ate grits, until I met some Northerners when I went to college (ironically, in the South).  My world was rocked.  So, I made it my mission to make my less fortunate friends love grits as much as I do.  One day we made a hung-over trip to Waffle House.  I told my friend we should order cheese grits because they are so delish – sure to be the best cure for our headaches.  The waitress brings out a bowl of regular grits with a slice of American cheese laying on top.  I was heartbroken.  That pathetic excuse for cheese grits couldn’t even stand in the same state as the cheese grits I’m familiar with.

The recipe that I love to make and eat is from my grandma.  The original card is in her handwriting and calls for oleo (instead of butter).  It’s fabulous, and a classic example of ‘if it ain’t broke don’t fix it’.  Aside from the whole oleo thing, they are exactly the same as the day she made them.  I swear, every bite brings me back.

Grandma’s Cheese Grits

Servings = 8

Weight Watchers Points+ = 6

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups grits (you can use quick cooking grits)
  • 4 cups chicken broth, fat-free
  • 1 log Oberle garlic cheese, cubed (you can also use cheddar cheese and garlic powder)
  • 1 cup 2% milk
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 2 Tbsp butter
  • 1/2 tsp Tabasco Pepper Sauce
  • 3 eggs

Instructions:

Heat oven to 350°.

Cook the grits according to package directions substituting chicken broth for water.

Once cooked, remove from heat.  Add cheese, milk, pepper, butter, Tabasco, and eggs.  Stir until cheese is completely melted. Pour into a greased baking dish.

Cook at 350° for approximately an hour, until the center is firm.

Leave a Reply

