French Dip Sandwiches

I tend to order the same thing at almost every restaurant.  I know what I like and I stick with it.  We don’t eat out very often, so I hate the thought of ruining my dining out experience by ordering something new and hating it.  So, if a menu has a French Dip on it, there’s a high likelihood that I will be ordering it.  I just love them!  And why shouldn’t I?  They are just so perfect – bread, meat, and cheese all together in one convenient package that you get to dip in something to take it over the top of amazing.  My mouth is watering just thinking about them.

I found this recipe on my good friend, Pinterest.  It seemed easy enough, so I tried it a while back.  This dish has quickly become one of our favorites!  The meat is so tender and juicy – it literally melts in your mouth.  I throw everything in the crock pot in the morning, and it’s begging to be eaten when we walk in the door that evening.  It’s even better if you toast the buns (I didn’t have time the night that I took this picture) and add cheese (I recommend provolone, you could even broil it a bit if you’d like).  It makes quite a bit, so we always have enough for lunch the next day – and it’s even better heated up.  French Dip, you had me at ‘hello’!!

French Dip Sandwiches

Servings =28 (2 ounce servings)

Weight Watchers Points+ = 4

Ingredients:

  • 3 1/2 pound beef roast
  • 32 ounces beef broth, fat-free
  • 6 fluid ounces red wine (I’ve taken this out before and they still tasted amazing)
  • 10 1/2 ounce Campbell’s Soup, Condensed French Onion
  • 1 tsp garlic powder

Instructions:

Season roast with salt and pepper.  Place in crock pot.

Pour beef broth, wine, and French onion soup into crock pot.  Add garlic powder.

Cook on low for 6-8 hours.

Remove beef and shred.  Return to liquid.

Serve on a toasted hoagie (cheese is optional)* with a side of the au jus for dipping.

*Hoagie and cheese are additional Weight Watchers points.

Leave a Reply

