Parsons Pickings

– The time change always screws with my kids’ internal clocks.  I love the extra hours of sunlight in the evening, but it’s so frustrating to deal with cranky children.  Plus, it’s so dark and cold in the morning at this point that no one wants to get out of bed.  We’ve had to wake both kids up everyday this week to get ready for school.  That NEVER happens around here.  I’d love to think that they will opt to sleep in on Saturday (when Alex and I could actually sleep in as well), but I guarantee you that one of them will be up at 5am.  Some say that sleep is overrated.  I’d like to slap them in the face.

– About 20 minutes after I posted this, I got a call from our daycare.  Luke was running a fever and acting like he didn’t feel well.  He had a lingering cold and the cough seemed to be getting worse, so I took him to the doctor.  She was concerned that he possibly had pneumonia because he developed a fever and his lungs sounded junky.  So, we were sent for a chest x-ray.  Thankfully, it was negative.  However, he missed the rest of the week of school (which means that we also missed work) because the fever wouldn’t go away.  It ended up spiking at almost 104° one night.  Our pediatrician ended up giving him antibiotics on Friday, so Luke is doing MUCH better now.  Both kids are back to school this week, but I’m just waiting for the next call from their school.  It’s only a matter of time before one of them contracts the bubonic plague.

– I can’t lie to you, when I’m at work I enjoy being able to use the potty by myself.  When I’m home, it generally looks a little something like this…

3-6-13 (6)

I’d lock them out, but they would chew their way through the door.

– Luke has 4 molars that are gnawing their way through.  Nothing seems more painful than molars breaking through.  They are just so big with so much gums in the way.  Poor kid is miserable and whiny and drooly.  Selfishly, I can’t wait for them to finally poke all the way through so that my happy boy comes back.  It’s all about me, you know.

– We did our taxes.  Turns out we are getting $13 back.  Yep, that would be a ten dollar bill plus three, one dollar bills.  I was less than thrilled.  We typically get a couple thousand dollars back, and I had plans for what we were going to do with it.  Classic ‘counting your chickens before they hatch’ scenario.  Turns out that Alex and I were both claiming the kids on our W-4, so we weren’t withholding enough.  They say to not spend your tax return all in one place.  Well, we could and that place could be McDonald’s.

– I waxed my eyebrows the other evening.  I feel 12% prettier.

– The kids obsession with the DVD player in the minivan is reaching epic levels.  When we load everyone in the car, Luke will point to the screen and grunt.  Anna is able to push the button and pull the screen down for them to see.  If they could figure out how to press play in the front of the car, they wouldn’t even need me anymore.

– Alex brewed his next batch of beer this past weekend. My entire house smelled like wort and hops.  For anyone that lives around the St. Louis area, my house smelled like Soulard (more specifically, the Budweiser plant).  Alex was in Heaven.  Currently, the beer is happily fermenting in our basement.   Alex tells me that the bubbles are huge.  I have no idea what that means, but he seems really excited.  So, I’m excited too.

Steaming pot of wort

Adding the hops

Passing down the beer making knowledge. It’s a father/son thing.

Chilling the wort using his fancy wort chiller.

And, Luke’s over it.

2 thoughts on “Parsons Pickings

Leave a Reply

