Baked S’ghetti

When I was in high school, I went on a student trip to Europe.  The trip was a couple of weeks long and fabulous.  However, since we were a large group of teenagers all of our meals consisted of pasta.  More often that not, it was spaghetti.  By the time I made it back to this side of the Atlantic, I didn’t even want to be in the same building as a spaghetti noodle – let alone eat one.  My aversion for spaghetti remained hot and heavy until fairly recently.  You see, Alex and the kids love spaghetti.  It’s one of the things my bird of a daughter will actually eat.  So, I set my hesitations aside and decided to revisit my long, lost friend.

This baked spaghetti is so simple, and can easily be made ahead for the week.  You can get creative with the cheese topping too.  This is going to sound really trashy, but we always used slices of American cheese when I was growing up.  Trust me on this one, it makes for a really creamy topping.  I once told my college roommate about that.  She is straight Italian, so she looked at me like I had four heads.  Of course, for her, if you use bottled sauce you might as well have committed murder.  Pray for me, Mellie.

Baked S’ghetti

Servings = 8

Weight Watchers Points+ = 8

Ingredients:

  • 8 ounces spaghetti noodles
  • 1/2 pound Italian sausage
  • 24 ounces pasta sauce (pre-made or homemade)
  • 1 1/2 cup 2% cheese (or American cheese if you want to be really classy)

Instructions:

Heat oven to 350°.

Boil the pasta according to package instructions.  Drain and set aside.

Brown sausage and drain.  Add sauce and simmer for a few minutes until heated through.

Mix sauce with noodles until thoroughly coated.  Pour into a 9×13 baking dish.  Top with cheese.

Bake until cheese is melted.

Leave a Reply

