I’m Back, ‘B’s!!

It’s no secret that I took a little hiatus from blogging.  Heck, the last time I posted Luke was a squishy newborn, fresh out of the oven.

Luke newborn 2

Ugh.  Makes my uterus ache.

In case you are wondering, I have missed blogging.  I can’t even count how many times in the past year I thought, ‘wow this would make for a great blog post’ or ‘all I want to do is write about this’ or ‘people are so interested in my life – they NEED to know about this’.  Okay, maybe not the last one … but, anyway.  In all honesty, I have really missed not having a way to talk about things.  It’s an outlet for me.  Things are gradually falling into some semblance of a routine and I’ve tossed around the idea of picking up a blog again.  (For the record – Alex thinks I’m insane.)  Ignoring Alex, I’ve decided to take the plunge again.  Sadly, The Unglamorous Mommy is on the fritz.  It’s like it ceased to exist.  I can see my posts, but there’s no way to access or post on that domain.  It’s a mixed bag.  Obviously, it would be easier to pick up where the old blog left off.  But, I was kind of ready for something new.  Most of you know that I can be pretty unglamorous at ‘mommying’.  Why have a name that spells that out?  If you don’t know that, you soon will.  Adding to that, Blogger is a pain in the backside.  No offense to any Blogger users, but it’s like changing a blowout diaper with one wipe – it can be done, but it’s not going to be pretty.  So, I took the disappearance of ‘The Unglamorous Mommy’ as a sign to give the final finger to Blogger.  The new blog, ‘The People Parsons’ (for those of you who didn’t read the title), will be about everything Parsons.  Or, everything that we have going.  It’s not all exciting, but usually pretty funny (this shit just seems to find me).  If that interests you – great!  We’ll be best of friends.  If not – well, that’s okay too.

With that said, quite a bit has transpired in the past year.  Obviously I can’t hit on everything in one post – that wouldn’t be cool for anyone involved.  Some things really aren’t worth mentioning.  Some things need a post or posts all to themselves.   Let’s skim the surface:

– I entered the world of ‘working mom’, and no longer stay home with the chillrens.  I can’t lie – I think I love them more now that I see less of them. Absence really does make the heart grow fonder.

– I finished my Masters even though I was pregnant for part or all of every semester.  I mean, you have to be known for something in class – mine just happen to be my fertility.

– According to Anna, she recently turned 12 on her 3rd birthday.  She’s full of attitude and style, as any little girl should be.  Scares the hell out of me.

2-24-13 (1)

– Luke eats like a horse and at the last check weighs about a pound less than Anna.  For those of you who are counting, she’s 21 months older than him.  Some of their clothes are the same size.  It’s pretty astounding.  I’m just thankful that he’s the linebacker and she’s the twig.

– I got a wild hair (mainly from an idea that was planted by a friend) to compete in a triathlon.  I use the word ‘compete’ loosely.  I trained and managed to finish a triathlon.  And then I did two more.  All the training and eating right resulted in me losing 65 pounds.  I was freaking unstoppable.  Then winter hit.  I got lazy and cold and resorted in eating.  I’ve gained some back and I’m not happy about it.  However, I can’t seem to get my ass back in gear.  I’m frustrated.  I have signed up for a few tri’s for this coming season.  Now, if I could just shake the lazy off and stop eating everything in sight…

– Alex decided to take his obsession with beer to the next level, and brew his own.  Picture moonshining, but without the backward people and law breaking.  I’ve never really liked beer (unless it follows several other alcoholic beverages), but I’m told that his first two batches were excellent.  Watch out Budweiser.

– After passing his newborn hearing screen, Luke was tested again at 9 months due to a family history of hearing loss.  He failed the test and was brought back three months later.  He failed that test and was officially diagnosed with a permanent mild/moderate hearing loss in both ears.  Our world was a bit rocked, but not destroyed.  We regrouped and trucked along.  He now wears hearing aids (and looks awfully handsome with them) and works with an educator of the deaf several times a month.  The aids have made a GIGANTIC impact in his ability to communicate.  Total validation.  Obviously, much more to come on this.  I feel like I could write a novel …

2-4 (1)

– We decided to pile on a bit more to our plate and took on several home renovation projects.  Included in these: landscaping retaining walls, new flooring in 98% of the house, paneling in the office, and finishing the basement.  I now have a new-found love of the movie ‘The Money Pit’ and for marriage counselors.  Just kidding about the counselor.  But, it drove us to about an inch of the ‘D’ and don’t mean Dallas.  (Name that song!)  Pictures to come soon!

– Anna is potty trained (except for wearing a diaper at night) thanks to a girl in her class, Dora’s panties, and a ton of rewards (read: bribes).  Just to clarify, they weren’t Dora’s actual panties.  Anna wanted panties with Dora on them.  Apparently Dora is too sacred to pee all over.

Man, it feels good to be back.

One thought on “I’m Back, ‘B’s!!

Leave a Reply

