You don’t get a break from being a mommy…

I remember when I was a young lass that it was completely and totally horrible when my mom got sick.  The house kind of fell apart.  When Dad got sick, nothing really changed.  I mean, we felt bad for him, but it didn’t really effect me.  When Mom was sick, everything went to crap.  My father didn’t even know how to turn on the oven, so dinner consisted of take out or anything from the pantry that didn’t need to be heated.  We were late to everything and we’d run out of clean panties.  It wasn’t pretty.

Now that I’m the mommy in my house, I have a better understanding of the situation.  It’s common knowledge that I’ve been out of commission for a couple of weeks.  I was out of town for several days and was welcomed home with open arms, a huge pile of laundry, and a really messy house.  The next day I was admitted to the hospital because Gail the Gallbladder was a big diva and insisted on making an early exit.  Recovering from surgery has taken longer than I thought it would.  I was told that I would feel fine after four days.  I didn’t.  I wasn’t anywhere close to feeling fine.  I don’t know what I was thinking.  Hell, I had an organ removed.  It’s only right to take some time to recover.  As I sat around like a big lazy lump, I watched my house turn into a chaotic mess.  I was powerless to stop it.

I had to accept help.  And I’m not good at that.  That could be part of the problem.  Eh, hindsight 20/20 – right?  But since Gail was such a big ‘B’ even in her departure, I had no choice but to accept help.  My mother-in-law ended up folding my panties.  That’s how bad it got.  Don’t get me wrong – Alex did a great job keeping us trucking while I was down for the count.  I have to add that I stumbled across him laying on the floor one evening.  I asked him what he was doing and he explained that he was so completely tired from taking care of Anna all day that all he could manage at that point was to lay on the floor.  I will say that the satisfaction of him admitting that my ‘job’ is hard tasted oh so sweet.

Now that I’m finally starting to feel better, it’s becoming obvious that Mom’s are the glue that hold everything together.  I am working on whittling away the massive laundry pile, restocking our now bare fridge and pantry, and attempting to get the house back in order.  I’m working on paying the bills and updating our monthly budget.  Funny thing – bill collectors could care less if you’ve just left the hospital with one less organ than you had going in.  Jerks.  I’m getting back into the swing of classes and work.  Oh yeah – I’m also tending to my child in a manner that epitomizes the majority of parenting books. *cough, cough*  Why are you laughing??

So, you might have noticed a slight lull in posts around here.  I know that you are anxiously sitting by your computer refreshing my blog in hopes of a new post appearing.  I sincerely apologize for wasting your time.  I promise to jump back into the whirlwind that is my life and wrangle it down to a manageable breeze.  Because, honestly, no one should be handling my panties but me…

 

Leave a Reply

