Tinkle Time

Anna was given this sweet little soft-book that recites the bedtime prayer when pressed.  It says:

 

Now I lay me down to sleep,

I pray the Lord my soul to keep,

thy angels watch me through the night,

And wake me with the morning’s light.

 

It’s a child’s voice that says the prayer, and it really is sweet.  Look how sweet this book is:

 

 

Well, last night I wake up at 3am because I hear someone talking on Anna’s monitor.  I know Anna is a child genius, but I also know that her vocabulary doesn’t go past ‘da-da’ and ‘ba-ba’.  I instantly freaked out thinking that someone is in my child’s room.  After peeing my pants in terror, I came back down to Earth a bit.  My first thought is that a cell phone is being picked up on the monitor.  That happens sometimes – it’s hilarious and addicting all at the same time.  Can you imagine being able to listen in on your neighbors through your child’s monitor??  It’s like being Gladys Kravitz in the 21st century!  Plus, I feel snooping, in healthy doses, does a body good.  🙂

Once I actually listened to the words being spoken, I realized that it was a child’s voice.  Now, imagine that it’s the middle of the night and you hear a child’s voice reciting a prayer coming from your infant’s room.  You would pee your pants too!  What was once a sweet voice becomes something out of a Stephen King novel.  Terrifying!  Turns out it was the above-said book.  I gathered up the courage to sneak into Anna’s room and remove the possessed book.  Turns out it’s just SUPER sensitive and plays whenever it feels like it.  As cute as the book is, it might have to go.  I don’t have enough diapers in the house to pee my pants every time the book plays over the monitor…

Leave a Reply

