Food or Shots??

Warning:  This is not a political post.  I hate politics almost as much as I hate women with extremely high metabolism.  OK, hate is a strong word.  Strongly dislike.

 

Why is the cost of health care so high??  We are lucky to have insurance through Alex’s company.  However, I received a bill for a visit Alex had to the ER.  He was there for 2 hours and received one dose of medicine.  We were billed $450.  WTF?!?!  To top that off, I had to take Anna to the doctor today as a follow-up to her bronchiolitis.  The receptionist met me with a smile and an open hand.  I had to pay the co-pay (and you know how I feel about that) and then was informed that I owed $270 for Anna’s last round of immunizations.  Honestly, WTF?!?!

 

I called the insurance company.  Apparently we have to reach our deductible before our insurance pays 80% of our claims.  Now, talking about insurance makes my eyes glaze over just about as much as talking about finances.  We have an individual deductible and a family deductible.  It’s all so confusing.  Also, for children, the insurance pays for $500 a year toward well-baby appointments/immunizations.  That doesn’t even cover one round of immunizations.  Then we have to meet the deductible.  And then, the insurance pays 80% after that.

 

Seriously, how are we supposed to afford this?  Maybe we should just live in a little bubble so we never have to go to the doctor.  I still have to get Anna immunized though.  Ugh.  I’m so frustrated.  I guess now that our grocery money is going to go toward medical bills, I might actually lose some weight… Now I won’t have any reason to strongly dislike women with naturally high metabolism…

Leave a Reply

