I’m Too Old For This

Who knew that once you got married and had a child, you instantly become lame and boring?!?!  When I was in college, I did my fair share of partying.  I was ready to settle down a bit when I got married after graduating.  Alex and I would sometimes go out, but never close the bars down.  No late-night, drunken trips to Taco Bell for us!  When I got pregnant, my drinking flat lined (obviously).  After Anna was born, I honestly felt guilty having a drink when she was with us.  And, when is she not with us??  Honestly, I don’t have a desire to go out.  I’d rather nap…

 

Alex’s 10-year high school reunion was this past weekend.  He wanted to go, so we drove down to Cape and asked his mom to watch Anna.  We fully expected to be home by 10pm. Well, a few glasses of free wine later – we had no plans of calling it an early night.  We ended up going to a couple bars after the reunion and met up with some friends from Cape.  It was great to see everyone, but this old lady drank WAY too much… On a strange note – my vice-principal from high school was drinking at the table next to me at one point.

 

It was about 1am when we were calling it a night.  We made the executive decision to let Anna spend the night at my mother-in-law’s.  Heck, I was too tipsy to take care of myself – how was I supposed to tend to a child??  It was my first night away from Anna since bringing her home from the hospital.  (Best to just rip that band-aid off quickly…)  We woke up the next morning and I started chugging water.  The room was spinning and my head was pounding.  Advil did nothing. Diet Coke did nothing. Greasy food did nothing.  I honestly thought that I could die.  Has anyone ever died from a hangover??  Here’s the kicker – it lasted for several days.  Never has it taken me a week to recover from drinking.  When did I become so old??????

Leave a Reply

