Place Your Bets!

Anna has been drooling like a leaky faucet for about 2 months now.  She’s also been chewing on anything she can get in her mouth.  People have been telling us for months that she’s teething, so I just listened to them.  Well, for the past few days, Anna has also had a low grade fever, been extremely fussy, and had trouble sleeping.  I just figured it was all part of the nasty teething monster.  Then she started pulling at her ear.  Thanks for throwing me for a loop!  Is she teething?  Does she have an ear infection??  Who knows!

I made an appointment with her pediatrician because if there is one thing I love to spend money on, it is insurance co-pays.  (Can you pick up on the sarcasm??)  After waiting for what seemed like 4 hours, Anna was checked out by the nurse practitioner.  The nurse practitioner cleaned the ear wax out of Anna’s ears (she kept calling Anna ‘Waxy’) and  gave her a clean bill of health.  Who put their money on teething??  I asked her if I should be cleaning Anna’s ears and she quickly told me NO.  No need for me to feel guilty about the build-up and to bring her in to have her ears cleaned.  (Yet another co-pay.)  I asked her when we should expect to see a tooth.  Of course, there’s no way of knowing.  Just add that to the big grey area called parenting.  I still maintain that in the rush of Anna’s delivery, my OB neglected to deliver the user’s manual for my child.  I’m just figuring it out as I go…

So, I’m back at home with my fussy, waxy baby praying (for both of our sakes) that a tooth appears soon.

Leave a Reply

