Importance of Napping

If college taught me one thing, it was that naptime should not be taken lightly.  Napping had a way of making everything better and a little less stressful.  I could spend hours in the afternoon catching up on some Z’s and wake up ready to conquer the world (er, Vanderbilt’s campus at least).  So I was a little surprised it took so long for me to figure out how important they are for Anna as well.  I never claimed to be smart…

 

My nephew, Sam, turned 1 the other weekend, so we traveled down to Cape to celebrate.  Saturday started like every other day as far as Anna is concerned – until right after lunch.  Anna had her bottle and then fell asleep.  And then, Alex and I took Anna to visit his family.  See, when we are in Cape we are constantly pulled between everyone who wants to see us and that we want to see.  Now that Anna is in the picture, it’s even worse.  So, we were trying to squeeze in a visit to make everyone happy.  Well, Anna slept for all of 15 minutes (she usually takes about a 2 or 3 hour nap).

 

Everything was fine until later that evening at the birthday party.  Anna was a basket-case.  She started crying hysterically and couldn’t be consoled.  People wanted to hold her but she was too upset to be held.  Alex and I took turns rocking, feeding, and calming her in the next room.  Nothing was helping.  She was exhausted, but refused to just go to sleep.  (Apparently I was the same way when I was a baby.)  After about 2 hours, a bath, and puking on me several times Anna finally fell asleep.  I was so frazzled at the end of it all that I just wanted to cry.  It was miserable.

 

So, the moral of the story is that Anna’s schedule is now set.  It doesn’t matter what’s going on or who is around – Anna gets a nap.  Bottom line.  And maybe, I can throw back to my Vandy days and nap with her!  Heck, if you can’t beat ’em, join ’em!!

 

Little visit to Sleepytown

Leave a Reply

