Stir Crazy

Alright, baby is doing pretty good.  Mommy is going stir crazy.  Thinking about it, I’ve either been in the hospital or at home for pretty much all of February and now into March.  I think my mom and husband have realized how crazy I’m becoming because they’ve done a few things.  My mom and I loaded up everything and Anna and went out to run a few errands.  Mom would sit in the car with Anna while I ran into the store.  We went to Babies R Us.  It was the most fun I’ve ever had there!  Yesterday, it was beautiful outside.  I was worried it might still be too cold for Anna.  So, my mom stayed at my house with my princess.  I took Lucy (my one and a half year old Golden Retriever) on a nice long walk.  Wucy (as my nephew Will calls her) LOVED her walk!  I think she’s feeling a bit neglected lately.  Poor furbaby!  We are trying to include her as much as possible.

Tonight, I wanted to go on a walk after Alex got home from work.  Well, that didn’t work out so I talked him into going furniture shopping.  We have these vouchers from this promotional thing they did a while back.  So, we went to look for some new living room furniture.  After trekking around for about 2 hours we left a little confused over the different options we have.  I’m sure we’ll figure something out!  Heck I just liked to not be confined to my own property for a short time.

Ok, when Anna was discharged from the hospital the doctor arranged for a home health nurse to visit 2 times a week for 2 weeks.  The first visit she was 1.5 hours late.  ANNOYING.  The second visit she was about a half hour late.  The third visit she gets there on time but proceeds to try and sell me some coffee mix that apparently she is the only person in St. Louis to carry.  On the last visit (thank God because this lady is annoying) she tries to tell me how she’s lost 13 pounds since January because she’s been drinking this coffee.  Apparently the influx of caffeine has caused her to have quite a large amount of the Hershey squirts.  Sounds like a fool-proof diet plan… I mean, she’s a RN so it has to be legit. Right?? Ha.

My little girl is growing like crazy!  She weighed 6lb 3oz on Thursday.  Little piggy!  I can’t believe Anna will be a month old on Sunday.  She shouldn’t even be here for a few more weeks.  It’s a little odd to think about.  I’m having a hard time deciding if Anna should be reaching milestones based on her actual age or her adjusted age.  Technically she is 4 weeks old, but gestationally she would only be 37 weeks.  So, should Anna be meeting developmental milestones for a 4 week old?

My other concern for little Anna has to do with her feedings.  She is the fussiest right after she eats.  I try to give her more thinking that she’s still hungry.  She doesn’t want more.  She will bring her legs up to her belly and arch her back.  She spits up sometimes and will scream and cry when she’s finished eating.  I’m not sure if it’s gas or reflux or what.  Part of me still feels guilty for giving up breastfeeding.  Another part of me tells the guilty part to shove it! I’m going to talk to the pediatrician during the appointment on Tuesday.  Hopefully something will be figured out.  I can’t stand to see my baby suffer.

Leave a Reply

